North Burnett 2017 Australia Day Award Recipients Announced

Feb 1, 2017 | Front Page Feature, News

Residents and visitors to the North Burnett recognised the outstanding achievement and contribution of local individuals and groups throughout the region during Australia Day Celebrations hosted by North Burnett Regional Council.

“Australia Day is the perfect opportunity for residents of the North Burnett to come together to celebrate what’s great about Australia and being Australian. It’s a day to reflect on our achievements as a community and also as individuals. These awards showcase the contributions of our region’s many unsung heroes,” Mayor Rachel Chambers said.

“I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate an outstanding individual or event, these nominees should be proud of their achievements and their subsequent nomination. I encourage everyone to keep an eye out for potential award winners for 2018, to even be nominated is a great form of recognition. It gives me great pleasure to announce the following 2017 Australia Day Award winners.”

 2017 North Burnett Regional Council Australia Day Award Winners:


Citizen of the Year Brian Ledwidge
Young Citizen of the Year David Geissler
Community Event of the Year 2016 Biggenden Rose Festival
Junior Sports Award Dustin Fawckner
Sports Administrator Award Kirsty Fawckner
Volunteer of the Year Award Justin Vicary



Citizen of the Year Trudie Roth
Young Citizen of the Year Ben Weller
Community Event of the Year Eidsvold Cattle Drive
Senior Sports Award Lucy Thompson
Junior Sports Award Jamie Hartwig
Sports Administrator Award David Holleran
Senior Cultural Award Maureen Wisniewski
Volunteer of the Year Award Mary Gibbs



Citizen of the Year Allan McCallum
Young Citizen of the Year Alexis Laidler
Community Event of the Year Heartland Festival
Senior Sports Award Lance Baker
Junior Sports Award Chloe Spry
Sports Administrator Award Lisa Bayntun
Senior Cultural Award Fran Conroy
Junior Cultural Award Eden Smith
Volunteer of the Year Award Amanda Wenck



Citizen of the Year Vi Leather
Young Citizen of the Year Ryan Pickering
Community Event of the Year Mungungo vs The World Charity Events
Senior Sports Award Dylan Burgess
Junior Sports Award Lizzie Younger
Sports Administrator Award Tara Harm
Senior Cultural Award Monto Magic Tourism Action Group
Junior Cultural Award Luke Aisthorpe
Volunteer of the Year Award Stacey Delaney O’Reilly


Mount Perry

Citizen of the Year Mary-Ann Nicholson
Young Citizen of the Year Kristin Carroll
Community Event of the Year Mt Perry Rodeo
Senior Sports Award Kurt Dingle
Junior Sports Award Tom Warren
Sports Administrator Award Beppie Stanley
Senior Cultural Award Brian Gerdes
Junior Cultural Award Stephanie Brooks
Volunteer of the Year Award Alex Geddes



Citizen of the Year Dawn & John Ogden
Young Citizen of the Year Matthew Zipf
Community Event of the Year MEA Long Table Lunch
Senior Sports Award Trevor Harvey
Junior Sports Award Travis Larner
Sports Administrator Award Cameron MacDonald
Senior Cultural Award Phil Robinson
Junior Cultural Award Kiana Watt
Volunteer of the Year Award Ken & Gwen Colyer
Special Award Adrian Brady
(Visited 418 times, 1 visits today)